Stop sharing a Microsoft 365 subscription

Applies To
Microsoft365.com Microsoft 365 Family Microsoft account dashboard

If you're the owner of a Microsoft 365 Family, Premium or Pro subscription, you can either stop sharing your subscription with other people, or you can remove them from your Microsoft family group.

  1. Sign in to your Microsoft account services page at account.microsoft.com/services and choose Sharing.

    Note

    If you don't see the Sharing tab, you may not be the owner of the subscription, or don't have an active Microsoft 365 Family, Premium or Pro subscription.

  2. On the Sharing page, in the Other people section, find the person you want to remove, and choose Stop sharing.

  3. After you confirm that you want to stop sharing with them, we'll send them an email letting them know.

Remove someone from your family group to stop sharing

Note

Only organizers of a family group can remove family members.

  1. Sign in to your Microsoft Family Safety group at account.microsoft.com/family with an organizer role.

  2. Click next to the person's name and select Remove from family group.

    Important

    You'll no longer be able to manage their Family Safety settings, and the member will lose access to Family Safety features. They'll also lose access to shared digital purchases made by other members, like Microsoft 365 Family.

  3. Select Remove to confirm.

What happens when you stop sharing a Microsoft 365 subscription

When you remove sharing, people you have removed will lose the Microsoft 365 Family, Premium or Pro subscription benefits:

  • They can still view and print Microsoft 365 files, but they won't be able to edit them or to create new ones. They'll see Unlicensed Product notifications when using Microsoft 365.
  • They'll still be able to use Microsoft 365 on an iPad, Android tablet, and smartphone, but won't be able to access productivity Microsoft 365 features.
  • Their OneDrive storage quota will drop from 1 TB or 2 TB shared OneDrive cloud storage to 5 GB.

    Note

    Starting October 8, 2026, all new (including expired and repurchased) Microsoft 365 Family and Premium subscribers get 2 TB of pooled OneDrive cloud storage, and Microsoft 365 Pro subscribers get 5 TB pooled storage. From May 2, 2027, all existing Microsoft 365 Family and Premium subscribers will get 2 TB of pooled cloud storage when the subscription renews. Pooled storage means the cloud storage allowance is shared across all members of a shared subscription. Each person's mailbox, files and folders continue to remain private. All subscription types can be extended up to 10 TB to give everyone even more OneDrive storage.

Need more help?

Contact Support

For technical support, go to Contact Microsoft Support, enter your problem and select Get Help. If you still need help, select Contact Support to be routed to the best support option.